Guide to Granular User Permissions on Mobile Manager v1.0

Guide to Granular User Permissions on Mobile Manager v1.0

Version History

v1.0 – Date 11/04/2023


Options before April 2023


Jola Partners could create customer Users but only had 2 options: Read-Only’ or ‘Edit’ access (see screenshot below):

 

Image

 

Users that were given Edit permissions had access to the full list of options on the ‘Details’ dropdown for each SIM (see screenshot below).  In addition to this, they also had the option to place SIM activation orders.  

 

Image


Read-Only Users did not have access to any of the options on the dropdown or the ability to activate SIMs.



Options after April 2023


When creating a new customer User, or editing an existing customer User, you are presented with the granular permission options below:

Image

 

The clickable ‘?’ tooltip buttons on this page define what it means to tick/untick any of the boxes.  The tooltip text is copied below:


User Permissions


Show = If this option is unticked the User will not be able to view the Users tab

CreateCan create new, additional Users

EditCan edit all the settings on this page for any User

DeleteCan delete a User and remove their access to the platform


Orders Permissions


ShowIf this box is unticked then User will NOT be able to:

1) Go to the ‘Orders’ section of MM (main Menu on the left) and have the option of selecting this ‘Order Type’ in the drop
-down menu i.e. they will not be able to search for orders of this type. If they select ‘Any’ order type from this dropdown the results will NOT show the orders of this type in the results.

2) In the ‘Orders’ tab of an individual SIM (after clicking on the ‘Details’ button of that SIM) see any Orders that have ever been placed of that order type.


Create
If this box is ticked for a specific order type, the User will be able to create Orders of this type in Mobile Manager

 

When the new granular permissions were made available there were no changes made to what live customer Users on Mobile Manager could, and could not do, on the platform.  This was because those Users were mapped as below:

Read-Only Users 
User Permissions: only the ‘Show’ box was ticked
Orders Permissionsall of the ‘Show’ boxes were ticked.

Edit Users
User Permissions: only the ‘Show’ box was ticked
Orders Permissionsall of the ‘Show’ and ‘Create’ boxes were ticked.

 


Partners can now go into each live User under each Customer on Mobile Manager and Edit their permissions.

Prior to April 2023, Partners had to create each User on Mobile Manager themselves. The new ‘User Control’ settings means they can choose to give a User the option to Create new users (as well as Edit / Delete Users).